June 14, 2022

At the reconvened meeting of the Board of Supervisors of Prince Edward County, held at the Court House, thereof,

on Tuesday, the 14<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2022; at 9:30 p.m., there were present:

Beverly M. Booth

Pattie Cooper-Jones

J. David Emert

Llew W. Gilliam, Jr.

Odessa H. Pride

Jerry R. Townsend

Also present: Douglas P. Stanley, County Administrator; Sarah Elam Puckett, Assistant County Administrator; and

Terri Atkins Wilson, County Attorney.

Chairman Pride called the reconvened meeting to order.

In Re: Board Vacancy

Mr. Stanley stated that due to the resignation of Supervisor Wilck, there is a vacancy on the Board of

Supervisors. The Board has to follow the specific procedures set forth in the Code of Virginia in order to request a

special election to fill the vacancy in District 701. He said the Board has 15 days to take action to direct the County

Attorney to call for a special election to be held, and the Board needs to direct staff to advertise for applicants for the

Board to consider to fill the position on a temporary basis until the special election can occur. Based on the timing, it

should be the same November 8, 2022 date for the special election.

Supervisor Townsend made a motion, seconded by Supervisor Emert, to request a special election to be held

to fill the vacancy on the Board of Supervisors for District 701 - Farmville, and that the special election be held in

conjunction with the General Election on November 8, 2022; to authorize the County Attorney to file the petition and

see a Writ of Election from the Prince Edward County Circuit Court for a special election to be held on November 8,

2022; and that the Board authorize County staff to advertise for applicants for an interim appointment for the District

701 seat; the motion carried:

Aye: Beverly M. Booth

Pattie Cooper-Jones J. David Emert Llew W. Gilliam, Jr. Odessa H. Pride Jerry R. Townsend Nay: None

On motion of Supervisor Emert, seconded by Supervisor Townsend, and adopted by the following vote:

Aye: Beverly M. Booth Nay: None

Pattie Cooper-Jones J. David Emert Llew W. Gilliam, Jr. Odessa H. Pride Jerry R. Townsend James R. Wilck

the meeting was adjourned at 9:34 p.m.